Skip to content

Human Rights and Inclusion Advisory Committee

The Human Rights and Inclusion Advisory Committee provides advice to Council to guide the implementation and monitoring of the Merri-bek Human Rights Policy 2016-26.

Purpose and scope

The Committee will focus primarily on the three goals of the policy which are to:

  • ­Be an inclusive organisation
  • ­Deliver inclusive and accessible services
  • Promote inclusion and social cohesion in the community.


  • Anna Kingston
  • Cyryla Sujka
  • Greg Rafferty
  • Ingrid Giles
  • Katie O'Bryan
  • Kristina Rae Larson
  • Lauren Henley
  • Linda Kader
  • Maeve McLennan
  • Mellem Rose
  • Sarah Hussein
  • Tamanah Rahim
  • Whitney Etheve

Selected representatives from up to 5 key organisations will be invited to join the committee.

Citizen membership of the committee will include up to 10 community members who live, work or study in Merri-bek, who have an interest in Human Rights and Inclusion. Preference will be given to those who identify with one of more identified priority groups:

  • ­Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander people
  • ­People from multicultural communities, migrants, humanitarian entrants, people who are seeking asylum and those of diverse faiths
  • ­People living with a disability, family members or carers
  • ­Women
  • ­People who identify as Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Trans and Gender Diverse, Intersex, Queer and Asexual 


Meetings will be held quarterly at a time agreed by the majority of members. Meetings will be scheduled in advance and agendas circulated at least one week prior to the meeting.

Terms of reference

Terms of reference for the Human Rights Committee (DOC 57Kb)